On which foundation is YOUR IDENTIY based on?

On which foundation is your identity based on?

Perhaps, this is the question that people usually would unlikely want to hear, baffle about, even ponder on and most of all answer. 

  • Is YOUR IDENTITY based on who you say you are, what other people: friends and family, tell about you?
  • Is YOUR IDENTITY based on how you look? what the weighing scale or the height measuring device says?
  • Is YOUR IDENTITY based on how you feel? How you feel about  your self? towards the opposite sex? towards the same sex?
  • Is YOUR IDENTITY based on the degree or course your taking in the university? Is it wrapped around that license you have indicating that you’re a professional and that you’ve passed your board exam?
  • Is YOUR IDENTITY based on whether you are currently in a relationship or you are currently single?
  • Is YOUR IDENTITY based on your religion or belief system or whether you even have one or not?
  • Is YOUR IDENTITY based on whether you are currently employed, jobless or unemployed?
  • Or for this age of technology, is YOUR IDENTITY based on the number of likes, shares, hearts, favorites, pins and whatnot in your facebook, instagram, twitter, pinterest and what other social media that exists?

I am asking these questions because I myself have asked them to myself. Bluntly writing about these, I confess that I am not spared with these trick-or-treat questions. Because as I am greatly tempted to answer YES to even just one of this, I am aware of the dangers and risks involved in basing your FOUNDATION OF THE IDENTITY to anything but the temporal, inconsistent and weak.

An ethereal issue, my identity is something that I take seriously. Since, many times have I found my identity placed on my grades in school, or on my reputation with my friends, or what the teachers would say about me, or on my ex-boyfriend, or on my license, or on my status of being unemployed or of being single, or on the number of likes on my current facebook status, or whatever. And this, I have learned and happily realized, won’t get me anywhere but feel shaky and insecure. Thus, I started with the pursuit of my identity, which is actually a process even if you already know Who you’re identity is.

To my pursuit of who I really am and my purpose in life, I have come to know, with clarity, my identity, during Victory Weekend (A graduation gift by God). Then and there, I have found who I am on a solid foundation (2 Timothy 2:19).

I thank God because my identity isn’t based on anything else, but on Jesus alone and what He did on the cross 2000 plus years ago. I thank God because I don’t have to waste any more of my time proving myself to anyone at all in this temporary world. I thank God because I don’t need to put up a facade of being this and that, but that, I can just be who I am because I know where my identity and security springs from. And they are definitely from me alone nor from earthlings.

  • I am a child of God (John 1:12)
  • I am His daughter, made in the image and likeness of Him (Gen 1:27)
  • I am made fearfully, wonderfully and thoughtfully (Ps139:13-18)
  • I am a temple of the Holy Spirit (1 Cor 6:19-20)
  • I am called to honor God above all else (Exodus 20:3) and make disciples (Matthew 28:19-20)

There are a lot more! Gleefully, I know I wouldn’t run out of identity as I am in Christ.

Here are more of my personal identity in Christ: https://www.ficm.org/handy-links/

So you there, know what you are called for and who you really are. And if you’re single, it’s the best season to discover the greatness God has instilled in you. 🙂

Leave a Reply

